Skyhunter by Marie Lu (Book Review)

YA Dystopian ◆ The Karensa Federation has conquered a dozen countries, leaving Mara as one of the last free nations in the world. Refugees flee to its borders to escape a fate worse than death—transformation into mutant war beasts known as Ghosts, creatures the Federation then sends to attack Mara. The legendary Strikers, Mara’s elite fighting force, are trained to stop them. But as the number of Ghosts grows and Karensa closes in, defeat seems inevitable. Still, one Striker refuses to give up hope. Robbed of her voice and home, Talin Kanami knows firsthand the brutality of the Federation. Their cruelty forced her and her mother to seek asylum in a country that considers their people repugnant. She finds comfort only with a handful of fellow Strikers who have pledged their lives to one another and who are determined to push Karensa back at all costs. But when a mysterious prisoner is brought from the front, Talin senses there’s more to him than meets the eye. Is he a spy from the Federation? Or could he be the weapon that will save them all?...

Charming As A Verb by Ben Philippe (Book Tour: Review + Excerpt)

YA Contemporary | Henri “Halti” Haltiwanger can charm just about anyone. He is a star debater and popular student at the prestigious FATE academy, the dutiful first-generation Haitian son, and the trusted dog walker for his wealthy New York City neighbors. But his easy smiles mask a burning ambition to attend his dream college, Columbia University.

Upcoming Books I’m Interested In • September

I had to think of an appropriate title for this post as I feel 'September Anticipated Reads' isn't an accurate description in my case. Frankly, I can't currently afford to buy books when they've just come out, and I'm lucky enough to get digital ARCs for some of them(thank you authors, publishers, and ARC platforms!),... Continue Reading →

Plague Land by Alex Scarrow (Book Review)

YA Post-Apocalyptic ◆ Imagine a plague that wants to do more than just kill you…

Leon and his younger sister, Grace, have recently moved to London from New York and are struggling to settle into their new school when rumors of an unidentified plague in Africa begin to fill the news. Within a week, the virus hits London. The siblings witness people turning to liquid before their eyes, and they run for their lives.

A month after touching Earth's atmosphere, the virus has wiped out most of the population. Desperate to stay alive, Leon and Grace are reluctantly taken in by a tight-knit group of survivors. But as they struggle to win their trust, the siblings realize that the virus isn't their only enemy, and survival is just the first step…

2020 Eid Book Haul

Ahem, everyone, I...uh, may have gone on a massive book buying spree in the past few months >.< I've been using the library for the past year so, there wasn't a good reason to buy books. Until this year. Because of the pandemic, I wasn't willing to risk going outside, and now I've moved to... Continue Reading →

All Our Worst Ideas by Vicky Skinner (Book Review)

YA Contemporary Romance ◆ When Amy, on her way to becoming valedictorian of her graduating class and getting accepted to her dream school, gets dumped by her long-term boyfriend, she takes a job at a record store to ease the pain. She needs a distraction, badly.

Oliver, Amy’s record store co-worker, isn’t so sure about Amy―his complete opposite―but what he is sure of is his decision not to go to college. He just can’t figure out how to tell his mother.

As they work late-night shifts at the record store, Amy and Oliver become friends and then confidantes and then something more, but when Amy has a hard time letting go of what she thought was her perfect future with her ex, she risks losing the future she didn’t even know she wanted with Oliver...

More Than Just A Pretty Face by Syed Masood (Book Tour & Review + Book Recs)

Book Blurb:For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a sweetly funny YA debut about falling in love, family expectations, and being a Renaissance Man. Danyal Jilani doesn't lack confidence. He may not be the smartest guy in the room, but he's funny, gorgeous, and going to make a great chef one day. His father doesn't... Continue Reading →

The Bone Houses by Emily Lloyed-Jones (Book Review)

Book Blurb:Seventeen-year-old Aderyn only cares about two things: her family and her family's graveyard. And right now, both are in dire straits. Since the death of their parents, Ryn and her siblings have been scraping together a meager existence as gravediggers in the remote village of Colbren, which sits at the foot of a harsh... Continue Reading →

All These Monsters by Amy Tintera (Book Review)

Book Blurb:Seventeen-year-old Clara is ready to fight back. Fight back against her abusive father, fight back against the only life she’s ever known, and most of all, fight back against scrabs, the earth-dwelling monsters that are currently ravaging the world. So when an opportunity arises for Clara to join an international monster-fighting squad, she jumps... Continue Reading →

The Theft of Sunlight by Intisar Khanani (Cover Reveal + Int’l Giveaway)

Hey everyone! I've been a bit preoccupied lately mainly because...I'm moving! Just to another city though, it's not like anyone could even go anywhere out of the country these days, haha. So I might post less as I have to pack things up and all. Anyway, today I'm revealing the cover to a fantasy book... Continue Reading →

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: