Charming As A Verb by Ben Philippe (Book Tour: Review + Excerpt)

YA Contemporary | Henri “Halti” Haltiwanger can charm just about anyone. He is a star debater and popular student at the prestigious FATE academy, the dutiful first-generation Haitian son, and the trusted dog walker for his wealthy New York City neighbors. But his easy smiles mask a burning ambition to attend his dream college, Columbia University.

More Than Just A Pretty Face by Syed Masood (Book Tour & Review + Book Recs)

Book Blurb:For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a sweetly funny YA debut about falling in love, family expectations, and being a Renaissance Man. Danyal Jilani doesn't lack confidence. He may not be the smartest guy in the room, but he's funny, gorgeous, and going to make a great chef one day. His father doesn't... Continue Reading →

Strange Fruit, Vol 1 : Uncelebrated Narratives from Black History by Joel C. Gill (Graphic Novel Review)

Graphic Novel | Non-fiction • 'Strange Fruit, Volume I' is a collection of stories from African American history that exemplifies success in the face of great adversity. This unique graphic anthology offers historical and cultural commentary on nine uncelebrated heroes whose stories are not often found in history books.

Among the stories included are: Henry "Box" Brown, who escaped from slavery by mailing himself to Philadelphia...

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager by Ben Philippe (Book Review)

Contemporary ● Norris Kaplan is clever, cynical, and quite possibly too smart for his own good. A Black French Canadian, he knows from watching American sitcoms that those three things don’t bode well when you are moving to Austin, Texas.

Plunked into a new high school and sweating a ridiculous amount from the oppressive Texas heat, Norris finds...

Book Review: The Spaceship Next Door by Gene Doucette

Three years ago, a spaceship landed in an open field in the quiet mill town of Sorrow Falls, Massachusetts. It never opened its doors, and for all that time, the townspeople have wondered why the ship landed there, and what—or who—could be inside...

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: