Contagion by Erin Bowman (Book Review)

contagion by erin bowman - cover

Book Blurb:

Fans of Alien, Outbreak, and World War Z will love this spine-chilling, horror film-esque novel about a search-and-rescue mission gone terrifyingly wrong.
It got in us and most are dead.

Decklan flew for help.

Don’t trust the kid.

Responding to the distress call was supposed to be a straightforward mission. But when Thea Sadik and her crew land on the distant planet of Achlys, they find destruction and devastation . . . and no survivors.

As they try to piece together the puzzle of who—or what—could have decimated an entire operation, they discover that some SOS messages should be ignored—and some monsters are only too ready to awaken.

Erin Bowman takes suspense to new levels in this heart-racing first installment in the Achlys duology. Fans of Jonathan Maberry, Rick Yancey, and Madeline Roux will delight in the electrifying horror that Contagion so vividly brings to life.

Tags: Sci-fi, Plague, Mild Horror, Space, Survival, Indian rep, Turkish rep, Korean rep

My thoughts banner

(I voluntarily requested this book and, thanks to HarperTeen and Edelweiss, I received a free e-copy in exchange for my honest review. This does not affect my opinions on the book.)

Wow, guys. Have I been waiting for a book like this! Contagion had tense and creepy moments, smart characters and twists! It was adrenaline-pumping and propulsive read. I love films like the Alien franchise and this fit right in to that category.

The planet was so quiet, that the quiet became loud. Earsplitting, thunderous. A roar that echoed across the endless expanse of the planet and the stardust beyond.

Plus, I appreciated how the characters were aware of dumb choices, like those typical ones in horror movies, and even when they went with said choices they had believable reasons for doing so.

I was surprised to find that I could understand most of the politics and that I enjoyed it, which is not the case normally.

And the tense scenes? Erin Bowman wove the tension taut as the story unfolded through different points of view. One or two of the twists didn’t surprise me but one in particular came out of nowhere and hit me in the guts. Some of the foreshadowing was seamlessly added, subsequently wowing you when things click together.

Update(a few hours later): The only con I can think of right now is that one of the character’s revelation wasn’t as shocking as it was purported to be. ※

Impossible is just an excuse not to try. You break it down into little steps, and then it becomes a bunch of things you can tackle. Possible things.

What made this book a level higher was its intelligence. The science, deductions and plot worked together to make this an incredibly exciting read! It’s not just your run-of-the-mill survival story, Contagion had substance, many of the characters were fleshed out and had agency, which made for a greater story with depth and challenge. I loved how it explored themes of heroism, cowardice and human nature in the face of terrifying obstacles. In short, ‘When the going gets tough, the tough get going’, but who exactly will be the ‘tough’ ones?

I’m not sure if I requested the ARC of Contagion before or after Kaleena @ Reader Voracious recommended it but I’d like to thank her anyway for her infectious enthusiasm and endless pushing for me to READ THIS ALREADY! 😂 I can’t wait to buddy-read the sequel Immunity with her! I’m chuffed that we both got picked to participate in the blog tour next month! So, my readers, keep your eyes out for that 😉

Review end banner

Parental Guidance: 13+
Violence – Plenty. Medium gore.
Sex – No
Religion – No
Profanity – Yes, the whole gamut, but it doesn’t feel overdone

Recommended for: Fans of the Alien franchise and those who like sci-fi stories with a small helping of horror. I don’t like horror but this is just within my limits. You’ll like this if you enjoy plague stories, too.

Get this book on: Amazon | B&N | BookDepository | Goodreads

9 thoughts on “Contagion by Erin Bowman (Book Review)

Add yours

    1. Thunk yow!! Hehe, it was great spookin fun! Oh man, when they landed on Achlys and saw the darkened ship 😶 I wanted to hold onto someone then! I agree, I wish more people knew about it, it was such a thrilling read!

      Like

Leave a Reply to Phantom Paper Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: