Here and Now and Then by Mike Chen (Book Review)

here and now and then mike chen

Book Blurb:

Kin Stewart is an everyday family man: working in IT, trying to keep the spark in his marriage, struggling to connect with his teenage daughter, Miranda. But his current life is a far cry from his previous career…as a time-traveling secret agent from 2142. Stranded in suburban San Francisco since the 1990s after a botched mission, Kin has kept his past hidden from everyone around him, despite the increasing blackouts and memory loss affecting his time-traveler’s brain.

Until one afternoon, his “rescue” team arrives—eighteen years too late. Their mission: return Kin to 2142, where he’s only been gone weeks, not years, and where another family is waiting for him. A family he can’t remember. Torn between two lives, Kin is desperate for a way to stay connected to both. But when his best efforts threaten to destroy the agency and even history itself, his daughter’s very existence is at risk. It’ll take one final trip across time to save Miranda—even if it means breaking all the rules of time travel in the process.

A uniquely emotional genre-bending debut, Here and Now and Then captures the perfect balance of heart, playfulness, and imagination, offering an intimate glimpse into the crevices of a father’s heart and its capacity to stretch across both space and time to protect the people that mean the most.

Recommended for: Readers who enjoy books about family, the bond between father & daughter, rediscovering love between partners, and free will. For fans of The Time Machine and The Time Traveler’s Wife.

Rating: 3.5/5 Stars

Tags: Time-travel, Sci-fi, Family, Romance, Loss, Free Will, POC

Publisher: Mira Books (a Harlequin imprint)

My Thoughts:

(I received a free copy of this book, thanks to Mira Books and Edelweiss, in exchange for my honest review. This does not affect my opinions on the book.)

I’ve always had trouble getting parent-child relationships, I just never understand how someone would go to such lengths to save their child. Maybe it’s something you get when you experience it first-hand, and so that’s why I didn’t find this book as heart-wrenching and soulful as I expected to. For fans of bittersweet stories like The Time Traveler’s Wife this one will speak to them.

Despite that, I have to say that I was moved at certain points of the story. I almost cried towards the end and I think Here and Now and Then feels more poignant when I think back on it rather than when I was reading it. The emotional parts were well captured, I’m sure it will move you to tears many times more than it did for me.

Plot holes in time-travel stories are tricky things, so I won’t delve into that or my brain will collapse on itself. In Here and Now and Then, sometimes I guessed where the story was going and other times it surprised me. Either this was not my cup of tea or it needed a bit more fluidity to the plot line.

My rating only reflects my liking level, fans of The Time Traveler’s Wife will probably give it at least 4 stars.

Parental Guidance: 12+
Violence – Some
Sex – Two off-page sex scenes
Religion – None
Profanity – Some

Grab this now on: Amazon | B&N | BookDepository | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Here and Now and Then by Mike Chen (Book Review)

Add yours

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: