The First Phone Call From Heaven – Mitch Albom (Review)

From the first time I read Mitch Albom’s works, ‘The Five People You Meet In Heaven’, I became a fan. You know when you’ve just finished what you think is the best book ever and you want to go on a recommendation spree immediately? That book did that to me. It was both poignant and enrapturing, made you cry and believe. Suffice to say Mitch Albom became my safe choice whenever I was at a bookstore and wasn’t sure what to buy(I hate leaving without a book).
      From that I went on to read ‘For One More Day’ and his breakthrough novel, ‘Tuesdays With Morrie’. I sure wasn’t disappointed. And one day, while I was at a bookstore, I found myself short on time so I scanned the Bestsellers section and grabbed the latest Mitch Albom, disillusioned by the thought that, hey, it’s Mitch Albom.
      I got home and the book stayed unread for some time(mostly due to this phone-addict phase I’m in, please tell me it is a phase).
      Then one day, I finally picked it up. I started out curious about the whole phone-call-from-a-dead-person scenario, then to utter dislike and regret that I’d ever purchased the book due to how I kept going back and forth between believing and thinking it was all a hoax. But then I kept reading(’cause duh, I didn’t want to waste my money)and slowly, I began to like it. Towards the end of the book, I understood what it was all about and now appreciate it for the message. I especially loved the Author’s Acknowledgement page(truth be told, more than the actual book itself, which doesn’t spell good things for the novel ≥﹏≤ )

image

Yes, that's home-made rice pudding!

‘The First Phone Call From Heaven’ has Mitch Albom’s signature story-telling style, but that is partially lost amidst all the preaching and confusion as to the story’s message to actually fully enjoy it. Not his finest work but worth reading for the ending. Let’s just say this was more preach-y than I’d have liked. I’ll give it three stars.

Have you read it as well? What did you think? Good, bad or just so-so? Let me know in the comments below! (Hey, I just rhymed! 😁)

       

“A day can make all the difference between winning or losing.”

3 thoughts on “The First Phone Call From Heaven – Mitch Albom (Review)

Leave a Reply

